top of page

Quite crazy week

Hello,

Sorry for not posting but it was realy crazy time for me... and not only me if we take a moment to look at mobile technology: another four holes in Snapdragon drivers that can be used by hackers, Verify Apps protecting from those problems, phones controlling cars, almost bezel less displays and others. And Pokemon GO, there's always a Pokemon GO news.

So in some order:

QuadRooter - oh men, that was close call: 900,000,000 phones vulnerable too attack because of flaw in Snapdragon drivers. If it would turn out lethal we would have a cathaclism but we have luck - Googles Verify Apps is on the guard and makes impossible installing apps with this kind of abuses. Bust stink stil can be fill. I would not be surprised if Qualcomm would lose on this aspecially that it isn't first affair of this kind.

Now Meizu and its E series: this is interesting. It seems that all phones in this family will be able to controll Alibaba Roewe RX5 smart car. Of course we don't talk here about remote driving ability but more about turning on/off climatisation, heat, lights and this kind of things. Is this secure ? Eh, that's a hard question - it realy depends on which functions in this smartcar are controlled by YunOS.

Ok, and my favorite: JDI created almost bezel less display. Why it's my favorie you ask? Simple - it will have visible impackt in short term (few months) on design of high-end models and maybe cheaper phones to. QuadRooter was scary and it probably will undermine the reputation of Qualcomm and YunOS is interesting but it still is just a curio, maybe sign of future but nothing interesting us NOW and HERE. But screen with minimal bezels? that's something we can see in few months, not years.

Of course I still advice to install apps only from Google Play - it's most safe source of apps.

So to the next time (hope it will be sooner)

P.S. About Pokemon GO... I will wright something tomorrow.


 What and Why: 

 

I created this blog to share with you my thoughts about news from smartphone market: new models, news about OS and interesting apps.

All of those you will find here.

As for myself, I'm interested in smartfones from beginning of Android (and it's some time now), earlier I was PC maniac.

Now I'm mostly pasionat and player

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page